Healing meme thing

So this heaing meme thing has been going around and I’ve read a few of them and they all talk about raid healing (and some of the questions seem geared toward raid healers) and I’ve barely raided in Cata much less raid healed so I figured it wouldn’t come to me but then slice thought I should do it and tagged me and now I’m sitting here creating a run-on sentence as the intro to this thing.

So technically I do have a class of each healer type. But if you look at the armory profile for Lorethos and Zarigar, you’ll see that they don’t even have healing offspecs set up. I have not done any healing with them since Cata. So out they go.

On the flip side, Tenderloyne got to 85 with only a healing spec and no dps offspec set up. I think she’s healed maybe 2 heroics and the summer holiday boss since hitting max level. The only reason she got abandoned is because I then picked up my druid healer, Jendora, and am working on leveling her up.

Since that is the one I am currently playing, that is who I’ll be answering most of the questions through.

1. What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

Jendora, resto druid. The spec is crap. I already have in my head where I want to move points around but I’m being lazy and waiting until 85 to do it all at once.

2. What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

5 mans, currently working on Cata regular instances

3. What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

I love Swiftmend. I love having Rejuv on a target then hitting Swiftmend and getting Efflorescence and seeing all the green numbers pop up. It feels like a lot of healing without a high mana cost.

4. What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Healing Touch. I just got it and it feels like a slow, clunky spell that doesn’t fit in with the type of healing I’ve been doing so far.

5. What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

Having so many options to keep heals rolling on multiple people. With the pally, there was a little bit of AoE, but it usually felt like heal, heal, heal, everything is brute force. I can put heals on one person, some people, everybody and it just seems to flow.

6. What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

I don’t know. I’m sitting here trying to thing what the pally has that the druid does not and vice-versa. They have some differences, but don’t know if I would consider any of them weaknesses. Pallys have Lay on Hands, I have a Rebirth. Different but similar mechanics (though one does not come with a repair bill.) Druids have Innervate, pallys have Divine Plea.

(I just copied the questions from slice. Why is there no #7? Ok then, moving on.)

8. What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

I don’t know. I think each one would complement the other. But as I don’t really have experience healing with other people this is just a guess.

9. What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

I don’t know. If hots overrode each other (and I don’t think they do) I would say druid.

10. What is your worst habit as a healer?

Not healing myself. I got spoiled with the Protector of the Innocent talent on my pally that healed me whenever I healed others. Now I’m lucky if I remember to use Barkskin to buy myself a few moments. I like to talk a big game about letting dumb DPS die but I’m really just a softie who will try to keep others up even if I end up neglecting myself.

11. What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

Have you read my other blog posts? I’ve for the moment moved on from hellfiring warlocks to any plate wearer thinking they can tank. DKs are the worst. If a tank d/c’s fucking wait for a new one. Don’t assume you can then tank and then be all pissy when you die. It is not healer fail when you charge in with dps spec/gear. Even if the actual tank is not that geared or experienced, it sometimes feels like everyone is looking at the healer to carry them through anyway.

12. Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

For the most part I think so. I wouldn’t mind having some kind of thread reduction, a la Fade.

13. What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

My eyes to see that people are alive and the mobs aren’t. I could dive into the numbers, I suppose, but that seems a little hardcore for the level I’m at now.

14. What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

I don’t know (notice a pattern here?) A few times I’ve gotten a “yay druid” when I’ve zoned into an instance, especially if it was already in progress. I don’t recall ever getting that reaction on my pally, so I’m not really sure what to take away from that.

15. What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

For me it was to learn how to handle hots. Especially coming from a pally where the healing was more brute force, I had to learn to be patient and let the hots do their work. A lot of times I wanted to supplement the hot with a direct heal when the hot by itself was more than enough to get someone back up.

16. If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

Probably lots of overhealing, especially when I’m keeping Lifebloom on a tank. I’ve learned to scale back a lot on keeping heals on everyone all the time. Cata doesn’t like when you waste mana unnecessarily.

17. Haste or Crit and why?

I am such a haste whore. Though I know that looking ahead I will have to keep a better balance of my haste levels to get the most out of hot ticks; I will have to research that more so I don’t end up stacking haste needlessly and ignoring other stats.

18. What healing class do you feel you understand least?

Disc priests, only because that is the only one I’ve never even tried. (Lazy bastards just sit in a bubble all day??) Though at this point, even a holy priest might feel weird to me now, what with all the chakras and crap to manage.

19. What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

I need a macro like Sorak’s that incorporates “bitches” into it in some way. Otherwise I’m ashamed to say I don’t really use too much. Or anything really. I should at least look for something to help me track my hots. Now that I’m into Cata I see that I can’t be all spammy and flings hots every which way anymore without taking some mana punishment for it.

I guess that’s it. Apparently I’m supposed to “tag” someone else to do this, but I think everyone else has done one by now and have moved on to the next meme. So I will cheat and leave this open ended: if you want to do one but haven’t done so then consider yourself tagged and get on with it.

4 Responses to “Healing meme thing”

  1. Mine wasn’t numbered. I would just blame Slice for there not being a #7.

    I can translate that… “yay, a druid” = “yay we can stand in bad and get brezzed!”

    Hmm … Tenderloyne could go with the Classic (and mandatory in SR) “War Stomp Bitches!!!” macro … not sure with Jendora though.

  2. Tranquility Bitches!

    ?

    BREZ Bitches!

    ?

  3. I was thinking more along the lines of: MOVE YOUR FAT ASSES OUT OF THE BAD, BITCHES!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

