It froze over

Blame my weird obsession with the Darkmoon Faire quests. Blame that dumb quest where you have to collect 250 Grisly Trophies. Blame my selective OCD that makes me unable to NOT pick that quest, even though the only thing it rewards you is rep.

(I say selective OCD because I have no problem pretending that archeology quest doesn’t exist.)

I actually went and played each toon long enough for them to finish that quest and turn it in. Some, like my pally, had carried that quest over from the previous month and didn’t need extra playtime.

Eventually it was down to my druid and my mage. I avoid questing and doing dps with my druid unless I absolutely had to, so the only way she was going to collect her trophies was running instance and LFR and hoping she collected enough.

Then there was my mage, who I had taken a firm stance on not playing.

Can anyone remember why? I think I may have select amnesia to go with my select OCD.

Was it because they changed some of the play style, so it was now a 4-button rotation instead of 3? Was it because I had been converted to Team Warlock and it’s not possible to also be Team Mage? Was it just a random proclamation that mages were evil and I was just going to have nothing to do with them?

Yeah, I don’t remember, but I know that I made it a point to not play my mage, so since it looks like I was going to break that I knew I would have to come here and post about it.

So grisly trophy collecting. The tipping point was probably that my druid had just picked up the quest and had 0 and my mage had the quest from a previous month (possibly a previous year) had about 75. All right, I can take her out to the beginning hozen area and see how it goes.

First I cobbled together her frost spec. Every one else was frost so she would be, too. I randomly picked what talents looked helpful and reset my spellbars. She had some random gear that other toons had sent her in case she was ever sent out into the world.

First problem, equipping that new gear broke her mogged look.

notaritwo2

/cry

One of the pieces was a blue helm that matched nothing. So I had to go into the Interface and turn off helm display. Then I decided I didn’t like her hair. So I had to take her to the barbershop for a new style.

Finally I was ready to step out into the world. After a few minutes of hozen dying quickly I got cocky enough to queue for something. Oh, the brewery. Not my favorite but you can rack up the trophies quickly there.

The experience was sad. It was just randomly hitting buttons. I forgot that I had frozen orb and time warp. TIME WARP!!!!! BWahahaha. Failmage is fail. I forgot about mirror image until the last boss. For serious.

And yet at the end of the run I was #1 in dps and overall damage. I can probably thank the blue pieces she had gotten from the other alts. I’m sure Blizzard put her in a group of similarly-geared people. But coming in not at the bottom with what was basically as much button-flailing as when my druid goes boomkin, it was a nice bit of encouragement.

So there you have it. My mage went out and actually did something. Now when people see me logged in to her and she’s not in Org they don’t have to worry that I have been hacked.

>.<

(Maybe I’ll actually read up on magey stuff now, too…)

One Response to “It froze over”

  1. Awwww she looks like my priest did back in the day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

