I can’t quit you

Last year I went shopping at Target. (Has there even been a more exciting opening sentence?) As you already know, Target decided to give out some credit card information, so a bunch of credit cards had to be reissued. Of course one was mine and I still don’t care, give out my information if you want, it’s still better than shopping at Wal-Mart.

Unfortunately the old card was used for several recurring payments, one of which was WoW. The notices would trickle in as the automatic payment attached to the old card would decline. “Aack, I need internet. Better update my information. Oh, no, I can’t live without Netflix. Let me fix that now.”

Eventually I got the email from Blizzard saying they couldn’t process my subscription and it was closed until I updated my payment information. Truthfully, I paused here and considered all my options.

My playing time had fallen off drastically and this dead blog was proof of it. Maybe those incompetent people at Target were doing me a favor; I could take this as a sign to walk away from the game now.

I was barely logging in, and when I did it was to play on random servers with low level toons. My broken headset was thrown into a random drawer somewhere. I wasn’t even keeping up with friends’ blogs, and I’m sad to say I don’t even know where many of them are playing or if they are even still playing anymore.

The most I was seeing of Azeroth were the random Hearthstone battles I would play before bed. I haven’t logged into Drak in months; I’m kind of scared to see what the state of Shadow Rising is. Pretty much everything was falling into the “Do Not Resub” column.

And yet, the next day, there I was updating my account information. I may not play a lot now but I am still looking forward to the expansion. I put a lot of work into my characters and I don’t want them to go out like this. One day I will be done, done, done with this game and then I will choose to cancel everything.

For now, I am back, and though that doesn’t necessarily mean I will be on more, I know that I’m not ready to give up on WoW yet.

12 Responses to “I can’t quit you”

  1. Zari!!! ❀

    Several of us are now on Drenden and Kargath. Both Horde side. Most people have unsubbed until the xpac drops. If you would finally break down and allow people to friend you on bnet then it wouldn't be a problem because you could see where we were!

    Slice and I have both made a couple random toons to just level. He has been leveling a toon on Kargath and playing a lot of Hearthstone. I've mostly been playing games on Steam.

    I miss you lots! You should log into gchat every so often so I can wave at you. πŸ™‚

  2. Shadow ….Rising?
    So sad that just a year after Disney World the guild turned into a ghost town. But most of us have stayed in touch, like Lyss said. I moved the bulk of my hordies to Kargath, so you can find me there. They are listed on the sidebar of my blog. πŸ™‚

  3. If you find Shadow Rising to be too much of a ghost town for your liking, I’m sure Rep and I could pull some strings to get you into our guild on Kargath. Assuming you’d want to pay to transfer. I don’t know whether you’d want to raid or not, but I think our social environment is pretty good regardless. πŸ™‚

  4. Ok, I just noticed that all three of us ended our comment with a smiley face. LOL DON’T BREAK THE CHAIN, GUYS! πŸ™‚

  5. Come to the Dark Side…join the Alliance…

    Obligatory smiley face πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

