Archive for November 18, 2014

Welcome to WoD

Posted in WoD with tags , on November 18, 2014 by zarigar

No introductory sentence, I’m just jumping right in. I love this expansion so far. I was kind of “meh” about this expansion coming and didn’t even do much of the pre-expansion/post-patch introductory quests thing-a-ma-bobs in the Blasted Lands.

So storywise I’m sure I was a little behind when everything started. We’re just going to jump into the Dark Portal? Ok, then, lead the way.

We’ve done the beginner storylines before and I’ve complained about them before. DK starting area, Worgen & Goblin starting area, Panda starting area. And this one doesn’t seem to start out much different. But yet it felt different.

It was pretty engaging, even for someone like me who isn’t up to speed on all the lore. I did like the whole beginning concept that you are helping lead a group of refugees to safety. It was much more satisfying than the similarly themed Goblin starting quests where it was basically every goblin for himself.

(Will I find the beginner quests as fun by the 8th alt? Ok, probably not, but I reserve the right to change my mind.)

And garrison. Oh, yes, hello garrison.

not that Garrison

not that Garrison

I admit when I first heard the idea of garrisons I was double meh. I think i was one of the few people who wasn’t excited when this was announced. It just seemed like it would be a tedious sidequest.

I truly thought this would be another Panda farm: I unlocked it and that was it. I truly did nothing else with it and I figured garrisons would go the same way.

But I do like that the game uses it to acknowledge you as a hero. You’ve done so many things for Azeroth, your toon really should be held in higher esteem, and giving you a garrison and calling you commander is a nice touch.

I don’t get to play as much as I want, so it might be a while until I see 100, but I’m excited again to play and to see what else is coming up.